Justice League Dark was a fantastic new addition to the Justice League franchise, thrown into the mix as DC went fist first into their big 2011 “The New 52” relaunch shake-up.

Officially, the Justice League Dark is a branch of the Justice League dedicated to dealing with mystical and supernatural threats. Its founding members include Deadman, John Constantine, Madame Xanadu, Shade the Changing Man and Zatanna – in other words featuring a lot of characters who previously only appeared in the sister DC/Vertigo Universe!

2012 saw the release of Justice League Dark Annual #1, which continued the story being told in #13 of the main series, basically seeing the the Leaguers finish their quest for the Books of Magic. Written by Jeff Lemire with art by Mikel Janin, artist Ryan Sook was approached to produce this fantastic piece of cover art to wrap it all up in.